Contact Numbers: +234 906 248 5447 or +234 906 248 5448 
The Department evolved as a Department, following the merger for the Federal Ministry of Commerce and Industry as a result of restructuring and rationalization of Departments arising from the Public Sector Reform of Government.
2. The Department of Trade has statutory responsibilities for the promotion, formulation, execution and implementation of Domestic and External trade policies for Nigeria. Thus, the focus of the Department is to create an enabling environment for both domestic and international trade as well as investment to thrive. This is to facilitate the achievement of rapid economic development, healthy balance of payment and other benefits accruable from international trade, such as specialization, market expansion and inflow of foreign capital. This policy thrust involves trade negotiations at both multilateral regional and bilateral bevels, for better market access for Nigerian goods and services in the international markets as well as facilitating inter and intra-state commerce.

3. The Department is divided into four Divisions, namely;

  • Multilateral Trade;
  • Bilateral Trade;
  • Trade promotion; and
  • Trade Information and Complaints.

4. The Multilateral Trade Division comprises of three branches:
  • World Trade Organization (WTO);
  • United Nations Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTAD);
  • Intra – African Trade; and
  • African Growth and Opportunity Act (AGOA)
5. The Bilateral Trade Division, comprises of Branch A- Americas, Central, eastern and Southern Africa; Branch B – Europe, North Africa and West Africa and Branch C- Asia, East Europe, Middle East and Oceanic covering over one hundred and twenty countries in terms of trade and investment promotion enhancement.
6. The trade Promotion Division comprises of Trade Fair, Promotion and management and Inter/Intra state Commerce branches.
7. The Trade Information and Complaints Division comprises of Trade Information and Publication, Trade Complaints and Ant-Money Laundering branches
  • World Trade Organization (WTO)
  • African Growth and Opportunity Act (AGOA)
  • Transnational Border Market/Regional Market
  • National Committee on Trade Facilitation in Nigeria.
  • United Nations Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTAD)
  • South – South Cooperation
  • Participation in the World Expositions
  • Intra – Africa Branch
  • Ecowas Regional Integration Process
  • Economic Partnership Agreement
  • Bilateral Trade Division
  • Trade Promotion Division
  • Trade Information, Complaints and Publication (TIC&P) Division
  • Nigeria Trade Offices
  • Trade Policy is being fine-tuned
  • Trade Information, Complaints and Publication –
– Plans to resuscitate state offices;  – Resolution of the Ministry’s collaborative work programme with the EFCC as it affects Special Control Unit Against Money Laundering; – Resuscitation of the Trade Information Management System/Data Bank. For more information, please contact Mr. Ahmed Zungeru, Tel. No. 08062928373, E-mail: