The Minister of State for Industry, Trade and Investment, Amb. Mariam Yalwaji  Katagum has stated that  the Federal Government  has intensified efforts in the  implementation of  different tracks of the MSMEs Survival Fund with disbursements for Artisans Grant and the Payroll Support. 

The Minister of State for Industry, Trade and Investment and Chairperson, Steering Committee of the Schemes made this known at a Press Briefing on the implementation of the MSMEs Survival Fund and Guaranteed off-take Schemes   in Abuja.

Amb. Katagum said the application portal was migrated from to   in a bid to ensure that the process of enlisting prospective beneficiaries was smooth and in compliance with Government regulations. 

 She further stated that “The white list of beneficiaries fully verified for disbursement and payments to the approved block of beneficiaries has also commenced and disbursements have been approved for a total of 16,253 MSME businesses accounting for a total of 101,567 beneficiaries. N30, 000 was paid to each of the 94,696 employees/Beneficiaries while N50, 000 was paid to each of the 6,871employees/Beneficiaries. So far, 2.6% of the beneficiaries are people with Special Needs while 43% of the total beneficiaries are women in line with the guidelines on disbursement”. 

“The disbursements for the MSME Payroll Support commenced last week Wednesday 18th November, 2020 and it is on-going   presently across the country.   However, due to the inability of some states to meet their targets, the portal is likely to be reopened to accommodate such states,”   the Minister stated. 

The Minister said other  milestones achieved under this track is the verification for payment of 101,567 beneficiaries sourced from 16,253 businesses as at 17th Nov 2020 while the distribution of beneficiaries across        the country include: Lagos State,25,000; Kano,17,000; Abia,16,000; and 13,000 for every other State. 

The Minister said Artisan Track Scheme is being implemented in three streams, “Under stream one, 29,000 beneficiaries (artisans) have been approved for payment across the following states: FCT, Lagos, 

    Ondo, Kaduna, Borno, Kano, Bauchi, Anambra, Abia, Plateau and Delta∙

While disbursement to beneficiaries under the first stream was ongoing, enumeration of Artisans in Stream 2 commenced on 26th October 2020 and concluded since 11th of November 2020.  Beneficiaries under this stream have been fully verified and will start receiving payments from Tuesday, 24th November 2020. The States under Stream 2   comprise Taraba, Adamawa, Bayelsa , Edo, Ogun, Ekiti ,Katsina, Kebbi, Kogi, Kwara, Enugu  and  Ebonyi 

 She said enumeration of Artisans for the Stream 3 will commence on Monday, 30th November 2020. “Stream 3 states comprise of Akwa-Ibom, Cross-River, Zamfara, Yobe, Sokoto ,Nasarawa ,Niger,Imo,Oyo,Osun, Jigawa,  Gombe and  Benue”, the Minister stated. 

Amb. Katagum said the formalization support scheme which is simply the registration of 250,000 new businesses with CAC commenced on 26th October 2020 and the scheme has so far registered 9,084 MSMEs from Lagos, 8,406 from Kano and 7,906 from Abia while other States have 6,606 beneficiaries each. 

She noted that the selection of beneficiaries for all the schemes under the Survival Fund are treated on a first come first served basis.

Oluwakemi  Ogunmakinwa Mrs.

Assistant Director Press

For: DD/ Head Press and Public Relations Unit